It is a sad process to memorialize the accounts of your loved ones. With our condolences, here is a guide on how to memorialize an Instagram account in 2021.
When someone dies, their accounts still stay up so they would have to be memorialized or deleted by someone else. Instagram has a feature about what to do after the account use has passed away. Let us tell you all about the memorializing feature.
What does it mean to memorialize an Instagram account
After a loved one dies, their account becomes a place to remember them by and cherish the beautiful moments. This is why Instagram has made a feature to memorialize those accounts once their users are gone.
So when an account is memorialized, no one can log into this account and make any changes. Which means that the only post you can see on the memorialized account are the ones that were made by the user before passing away.
Once the account is memorialized, the word “Remembering” will be shown next to that person’s name on their profiles. So anyone who is new to this account can see that the user has passed away and this account is only for people to remember the users by.
Any posts or videos that the user shared with other people before their death will be still visible. So if you got a post from them, it will stay up even after the account has been memorialized.
One thing that the memorialized accounts can’t do is appear in the Explore page of Instagram no matter how much reach it gets.
Before memorializing an account, remember that you won’t be able to change certain things like –
- Photos or videos added by the person to their profile.
- Comments on posts shared by the person to their profile.
- Privacy settings of their profile.
- The current profile photo, followers, or people the person follows.
Here’s how to do it
Memorializing an account is basically like creating a “digital afterlife” for a loved one who has passed away. The process is very simple. All you have to do is submit a request to the Instagram support team.
To avoid false claims and memorializing accounts of users who are still alive, Instagram will not act if just a request is sent. The request has to come from someone close to the user who has passed away and a proof of death like a link of the obituary has to be shared.
You can submit your form here where you have to fill out some basic details which takes just a few minutes.
It will take some time for the Instagram team to verify everything and they might even ask you to submit more information. You can even consider deleting the loved one’s account instead.